top of page

About Me

Thank you for visiting the The Ginger Genealogist. I am excited to share my love of genealogy with all of you! For my first blog post, I thought I would share a little bit about me.

The picture shows my husband, Anthony, and I shortly after my graduation from BYU.

I graduated in June 2018 from Brigham Young University with a BA in Family History-Genealogy and I have extensive experience in genealogical research and report writing.

My interest in family history began when I served in my local Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints ward as a family history youth consultant. As part of my duties I went to my local family history center on a weekly basis and helped patrons with their family history. I also gave presentations and taught classes on basic family history skills.

For the past two years I have been employed with Brigham Young University Center for Family History and Genealogy. During my employment, I worked as a research assistant on the Nauvoo Community Project, the University of Virginia Nauvoo Project and as a front desk assistant. Through my experiences on these projects I have completed research for over one hundred individuals using census records, vital records, newspapers, and compiled sources.

I recently completed an internship with the Latter Day Saint Church History Library, during my time as an intern, I assisted in researching and transcribing nineteenth century newspapers, highlighting references made to Eliza R. Snow. I also completed an internship with The Family History Guide where I demonstrated proficiency with a variety of different topics relating to family history and authored several instructional blog posts. During my time as an intern, I also added record collections, articles, videos, and other resources that would be valuable for others to have access to in order to enhance their family history research experiences.

My research emphasis is primarily the United States. Through my course work I have completed research in the American North, Midwest, and South. I have also had some experience with research in other areas such as England and Denmark. I have become very familiar with conducting research using databases such as Ancestry, FamilySearch, and Mormon Pioneer Overland Travel. I have also become competent in using genealogical software such as Roots Magic and Research Ties.

I recently returned from the August 2018 Federation of Genealogical Societies conference held in Fort Wayne, Indiana. I recieved a grant to attend the conference from BYU. Attending FGS was a valuable experience that taught me a lot about how the genealogical community works.

I'm excited to get my research business started and I hope that I can help you find your ancestors and learn more about their lives.

Rachel Carter

The Ginger Genealogist

bottom of page